Galya’s Dacha: A Day in Pictures

October 1, 2011

This post is dedicated to my mum, who I know would love the dacha (if only she could bring her horses!).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A ‘dacha’ is a home in the country, and it is very common for Russian families to have these. They may have gardens or banyas (bathhouses), and serve practical purposes as well as being a retreat from the city.

My day began, like so many Russian stories, at the train station. Galya’s best friend Natasha picked me up and took me on the one hour train ride to meet Galya, who was already there. When we got off the train, there was no train station. Everyone just started crossing the train tracks and disappearing into the woods! I followed Natasha.

When we got to the dacha, Galya introduced me to Malvina and Shura, then changed me into the mandatory dacha apparel: wool everything, plus a headscarf, jacket, and boots! As silly as I looked, I think Shura still loved me.

I went mushroom “collecting” with Galya and Natasha! This is a typical pastime here that  Russians are always shocked to hear I’ve never done. I try to explain the American fear of eating the wrong mushroom and dying. “Just don’t eat the wrong one!” Well, I suppose that’s good advice! I learned a little about how the pretty red ones here are poisonous, and also about a few that were quite tasty to eat.

After we got back, Galya shooed me off and told me to go exploring. I wandered her garden, went down by the river, and played guitar. It was wonderful!

After exploring, I went in the banya with Galya and Natasha. That’s a story for the next post, though! It was quite an experience.

Dinner that night was all fresh from the garden and forest. What a day!

5 Responses to “Galya’s Dacha: A Day in Pictures”

  1. Carol Ames said

    Love the pictures. It sounds like you had a wonderful time at the dacha.

    Carol Ames

  2. salomon babayaro said

    Beautiful photographs. You are much talented

  3. Karin Ames said

    Fabulous story in pictures!

  4. Debbie said

    I love how the pictures change creating a gallery. Really cool. I am looking forward to the banya story.

Leave a Reply

