Ten Days and Counting

August 22, 2011

Ten days til Russia! I don’t think it’s going to hit me until I’m surrounded by all things Russian: the small talk, the street signs, the menus… I think I’m going to have to see it to believe it!

Right now, the funniest part of this has been people’s reactions to finding out where I’m headed. People have been very kind, though it seems that everyone in America has a sister’s-boyfriend’s-cousin’s-neighbor who would be perfect for me to talk to before I go because once upon a time, they stopped in the Moscow airport on their way home from Hong Kong. This topic always leads to a lengthened conversation, accompanied by a lot of polite smiling and nodding as people unload all of the stereotypes they’ve heard about Russia : the snow, the vodka, the main export (beautiful women). My grandfather, upon hearing where I was going to study, yelled in the volume that reminds the neighbors daily of his hearing impairment,”WHAT?! YELLOW-SLABLE? HAVEN’T HEARD OF IT!” After I wrote Yaroslavl’s name down for him, he proceeded to write: “[comma] USSR.”

I suppose some things will never change for some people, but at least I can try to explain them to others. Once people finish what they have to say, I try to tell them why I want to be in Russia and why the country fascinates me so much. To be honest though, I  don’t really know anything about Russia yet.  I’ve been studying the language, history, culture, and literature for two years–but what does that mean if I’ve never even set foot there before? At the end of the day, my knowledge only amounts to things I’ve been told. I can’t wait to get to Russia. I feel like I’ve been waiting forever!

By the way, I’m Sarah and I’m headed to the Golden Circle. I look forward to blogging for you and sharing experiences, travel advice, recipes, fun facts, and other useful tidbits with you this year. Пока for now!

Sarah

2 Responses to “Ten Days and Counting”

  1. Kimberly said

    Hey Sarah, I’m following the blog now, I can’t wait to learn about your time abroad 🙂 and I can just see that happening “comma USSR” hahaha. ~Kimberly!

  2. Diane Monteith said

    Good luck in your year in Russia Sarah! I’m a good friend of your Mom’s and my daughter is two years below Elizabeth at Dana Hall.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

